Main Page Photo

Welcome to the Academic Senate

The Academic Senate structures itself to support the mission of the university by enabling informed and inclusive decision making to represent the faculty on all matters of shared governance.

Congratulations to 2020-2021 Awards Recipients

The Academic Senate is one of the distinctive organizational elements of the University of California – a feature that distinguishes it from other major research universities. The University of California’s 1868 charter called for the establishment of an “academic senate” consisting of all faculty and deans, presided over by the president. The Senate, stated the 1868 Organic Act, was “created for the purpose of conducting the general administration of the University.” The organization of the Senate and its relationship to the university president and the governing board, however, was the prerogative of the Regents. Codified by the UC Regents in 1920, the Academic Senate is the vehicle through which faculty share in the operation and management of the university. UCLA’s contemporary practice of consultative decision making and shared governance reinforces the notion that faculty are at the heart of the academic enterprise of teaching, research, and public service and critical to maintaining the quality of the university’s academic programs. The Senate is delegated authority over such matters as degree and enrollment requirements and program establishment, disestablishment, and review. It also has a formal advisory role in academic personnel actions and a myriad of other matters. The Academic Senate’s efforts derive from the premise that the university’s excellence is sustained by faculty, administration, staff, and students all making substantive contributions to the university in an involved, respectful, and collaborative fashion. 


Login for Senate Committee and Council Members (SSO Required)