Charges Committee


The Charges Committee conducts investigations regarding complaints made against members of the faculty charging violation of the Faculty Code of Conduct including Sexual Harassment, the Research Misconduct Policy or other University policy regulating individual conduct, in order to determine whether there is probable cause to warrant a disciplinary proceeding before the Committee on Privilege and Tenure. Investigations by the Charges Committee and related procedures are to be conducted in accordance with the statement titled "Campus Procedures for Implementation of Policies on Faculty Conduct and the Administration of Discipline". (Appendix XII)

To initiate a complaint against a faculty member, the complainant must file a written charge with the Charges Committee. The Chair of the Committee will discuss the charge with the complainant in order to determine whether all other administrative remedies have been exhausted and that no satisfactory resolution can be implemented at the departmental or college level. 

The Charges Committee will present the written charge to the faculty member, giving them an opportunity to respond. The faculty member accused may request to appear before the Committee, but the Committee may decline if it determines further response is not needed. The Charges Committee may propose negotiation or mediation if both parties agree. Otherwise, the Committee will forward its determination of probable cause or no probable cause  to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Personnel, who will then transmit it to the Committee on Privilege and Tenure, noting the specific provisions of the Faculty Code of Conduct which are alleged to have been violated. The Committee on Privilege and Tenure is responsible for the formal disciplinary hearing process.

The Charges Committee consists of eight faculty members appointed by Committee on Committees and confirmed by the Legislative Assembly for a term of up to 3 years.
Interactions with Administration
The Committee mainly interacts with the Vice Chancellor for Academic Personnel.
Chair: Jeff Bronstein, [email protected]

Committee Analyst: Marian McKenna Olivas, (310) 206-2469,  [email protected]