Academic Senate (with aerial photo of campus in background)
Photograph 2003 by Alan Nyiri, courtesy of the Atkinson Photographic Archive.

Council of Faculty Chairs (CFC)

Committee Members

Cochran, Susan Chair, Academic Senate
Graham, Sandra Vice Chair/Chair-Elect, Academic Senate
Estrada, Leobardo Immediate Past Chair, Academic Senate
Robbins, Wendie
School of Nursing
Williams, Benjamin School of Engineering
Cohen, David School of Public Affairs
Younai, Fariba
School of Dentistry
Hayn, Carla
Anderson Graduate School of Management
Schiller, Gary
School of Medicine
McDonald, William School of Theater, Film and Television
Sax, Linda Graduate School of Education and Information Studies
Vesna, Victoria
Motomura, Hiroshi
School of Law
Bristow, Joseph
College of Letters and Sciences
Glik, Deborah
School of Public Health
Linda Mohr Academic Senate Office
Christopher Jados Academic Senate Office


Meeting Schedule 2016-2017
Group Date Time Location Agenda Minutes
CFC/SCC Mon., Oct. 17, 2016 9:30 - 11:00 Hacienda, Faculty Center 10.17.16 10.17.16
CFC Mon., Jan. 23, 2017 9:00 - 11:00 3135 Murphy Hall 01.23.17 01.23.17
CFC/SCC Mon., April 24, 2017 9:00 - 11:00 Hacienda, Faculty Center 04.24.17 04.24.17
CFC Mon., June 05, 2017 9:00 - 11:00 3135 Murphy Hall 06.05.17 06.05.17

To access CFC/SCC meeting materials from recent past years, please click on this sentence.



  • Chairs of the Faculty Executive Committees (FECs) of all eleven Schools, and FEC representatives from each of the 4 divisions of the College of Letters & Science.
  • Divisional Senate Chair
  • Divisional Senate Vice Chair
  • Chaired by the Divisional Chair


Created in 1995, the CFC is made up entirely of elected faculty leaders, and is a unique vehicle for communicating between Schools, the Senate and its constituents, and the administration and the faculty. Thus, the formal and informal responsibilities of the CFC are broad and flexible according to the changing needs of the campus and the faculty.

The types of responsibilities the CFC has embraced include enhancing communication between the various Schools; disseminating information from the administration or the Senate to the faculty; vetting possible consequences of University-wide policies; and providing Campus-wide administration access to all professional Schools and the College and vice versa. The Council has recently become most active in reviewing and providing input into the budget for each School and the College. The CFC has helped the Schools to establish a sense of community among independent faculties.

Interactions with Administration

Faculty Chairs work directly with their respective Deans and/or Provosts. The CFC meets as needed with administrators.

Senate Staff Contact: Christopher Jados, Administrative Analyst/Executive Assistant, 310-206-3802, cjados@senate,