Academic Senate (with aerial photo of campus in background)
Photograph 2003 by Alan Nyiri, courtesy of the Atkinson Photographic Archive.


The Academic Senate operates as a legislative body and also a system of 21 appointed committees run by and for the faculty.  It functions chiefly through these committees as well as through elected officers and a Legislative Assembly.

2016-17 Officers and Committee Roster


Academic Programs and Policies

Educational Resources

University Community


Ad Hoc Committees and Taskforces


Committee Service: If you are an Academic Senate member and have an interest in serving on an Academic Senate committee, please take a moment to indicate your preferences for service on our Committee Volunteer Form.

By actively participating in Senate Committees, we ensure that academic and administrative decisions are informed and enriched by broad faculty input. Thank you for your interest in shared Faculty Governance.


At its meeting held on February 26, 2004, having received input and a recommendation from the Chairs of Senate Standing Committees, the Executive Board adopted the formal policy that all meetings of Standing Committees of the UCLA Division of the Academic Senate are “closed” meetings, open only to current committee members (including all duly-appointed student representatives and ex-officio members), assigned Senate staff, and invited guests as determined by each committee chair. Campus Counsel has advised the Division that Senate meetings are not subject to the Brown Act, and are correctly considered closed meetings.