Academic Senate (with aerial photo of campus in background)
Photograph 2003 by Alan Nyiri, courtesy of the Atkinson Photographic Archive.

Distinguished Teaching Award
Award Categories

Award Categories
Because great teachers come from all academic ranks we encourage your department to nominate anyone who teaches graduate or undergraduate students and meets the program's criteria.

The Academic Senate Committee on Teaching will name six members of the Senate, three non-Senate faculty, and five teaching assistants to receive awards in the following categories:

  • Distinguished Teaching Award: Senate Faculty (6 Senate Members)
  • Distinguished Teaching Award: Non-Senate Faculty (3 Non-Senate Faculty)
  • Distinguished Teaching Assistant Award (5 Teaching Assistants)

Each recipient will receive a cash award as part of their recognition. The Senate winners will receive $6,000, non-Senate winners $3,000, and teaching assistant recipients will receive $2,500. A $20,000 Dissertation Fellowship Award from the UCLA Graduate Division will also be given to teaching assistants who are eligible. In addition, the recipients will each receive a certificate of recognition and UCLA media exposure.

The names of the winners in all three categories will be announced publicly at the Spring Legislative Assembly meeting in June 2015. All recipients will be honored and receive their awards at the annual Andrea L. Rich Night to Honor Teaching Ceremony in Fall 2017. The date of this event will be anounced in the Winter or Spring quarters.